top of page
Featured Posts

Homemade Acorn Squash Soup - Vitamix® Recipe

You're gonna love serving this up pre or post Thanksgiving dinner! It's simple to make and the ingredients are packed with fiber and antioxidants to reduce bloating, inflammation, and maximize your nutrition during the holiday season.

4-6 servings

Ingredients:

1 acorn squash

3 garlic cloves or more, peeled

1 tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 chicken buillon

6 cups water

1 tsp salt, pepper

1 tsp turmeric

a few sprigs of fresh rosemary, chopped

Basil leaves, for garnish

Method:

Preheat the oven to 400*F. Carefully halve the squash and scoop out the seeds, reserving them for later use. Place the squash on a large baking sheet and spread the seeds and garlic on a smaller oven safe dish. Coat the seeds evenly with oil and sprinkle with salt. Bake both the squash and seed dishes at the same time, but be sure to remove the seeds after about ten minutes (when the garlic & seeds are golden). Allow the squash to bake for ~30 minutes, until you can pierce a fork through.

Let the squash cool, then peel the skin away and add the remainder to your blender. Next, add all remaining ingredients but the seeds and blend on high for two minutes. Top with the seeds, fresh basil leaves, and enjoy!

Are you having soup served at your holiday meal this year? Let me know in the comments!

And as always, if you need encouragement and support to stay healthy and balanced this season, please reach out and I will be in touch shortly!

*Vitamix® was kind enough to send me the newest model which I am absolutely loving. The motor is so powerful and blended the soup in less than two minutes. I gifted my older version to my brother who told me he has used it everyday since! I'm telling you, this blender is life changing and I highly recommend one for a permanent spot on your kitchen counter.

bottom of page